NEDA Asheville Walk

After being made aware of this event by the lovely Sarah Gore, I immediately knew this was something I wanted to be apart of. As most of you know, I am now in recovery from an extremely rough and deadly battle against my eating disorder. This December will mark two full years in recovery. When I look back at pictures I took and poems I wrote even a few years ago when I was deep in my disorder. It brings tears to my eyes to compare my life then to now because I never thought the life I have now would be possible in a lifetime, let alone before I graduated college.

Earlier this year, the closest group I have from rehab lost one of our closest friends to this disorder. It not only robbed me of a lot of my childhood, but it has taken loved ones I leaned on in rough times. This disorder is more deadly than anyone could ever imagine, especially those whose lives have been untouched by this type of illness.

To raise awareness, to raise money, and to walk proudly because daily I am conquering my eating disorder, I’m walking with one of the strongest women I know who has always been beautiful inside and out and is finally starting to see it for herself. If you would like to help me raise money, go to http://neda.nationaleatingdisorders.org/goto/LindsayRex2014 and click donate! It is really simple and I would appreciate all the support I can get for NEDA, such an amazing organization that helps give women the type of help I was lucky enough to receive because my parents moved hell and high water to keep me alive.

Your participation and support goes a long way!

$30 provides 30 minutes on the NEDA Helpline.
$50 provides 20 CD-ROMs of NEDA Toolkits to parents, teachers, coaches and volunteers.
$100 pays for the tools required for a NEDA Navigator as they provide support to individuals and families affected.
$250 pays for a full day of operation of the Proud2BMe.org teen website, which promotes confidence in teens across America.
Every dollar helps towards our goal of a world without eating disorders!

You can also register to walk with me on the Asheville, NC NEDA Walk website! Be sure to tell your family, friends, classmates, coworkers and members of your local community to join in the fight against eating disorders!

Thank you all for your constant love and support! 

Leave a Reply

